Ragol.co.uk Forums  

Go Back   Ragol.co.uk Forums > Banter > General Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14-06-2005, 05:28 PM
Serpent7 Serpent7 is offline
Staff Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 29
Posts: 2,523
Send a message via MSN to Serpent7
Computer problems and/or questions

Basically, if you have a problem with your PC, post about it in this thread, and I'll see what I can do. Of course, some of the other members might know and want to help, and they're welcome to voice their suggestions too. When I say "Wing-dang-doodles", that can mean anything, including spyware, viruses, slowdown, internet not working properly, error messages, popups, games not running smoothly... Anything.

It would of course be handy if you could tell us some of these things:
  • What the error is. (Duh! )
  • What, if any, program(s) you were using at the time.
  • What, if any, website(s) you were visiting at the time.
  • When did it happen? Startup? Shutdown?
  • If it's a virus, the name of the virus, if you know it.
  • If it's perrenial popups, what websites are they showing?
  • Finally, anything else you think is relevant.

Any questions regarding computers can also be made.
__________________
UT2007 Mapping Tutorials: UConstruct/

Last edited by K_I_R_E_E_K; 29-12-2008 at 04:39 PM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-06-2005, 03:45 AM
Ivan's Avatar
Ivan Ivan is offline
Staff Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ohio
Age: 28
Posts: 4,173
Send a message via AIM to Ivan Send a message via MSN to Ivan Send a message via Skype™ to Ivan
Why does my windows movie maker freeze 9/10 while playing/reveiwing a movie when my computer is an intell pentium 4 processer at 1.59ghz with 768mb ram?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comments
The servers are not updated, maintained by, or have anything to do with Sonic Team or the SEGA Corporation.
And thank god for that!!
Still rocking pso on GC and BB...on that server that everyone knows about.

Let's Go, The Only Way We Know, Taking You Out. - Lostprophets
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-06-2005, 11:04 AM
Serpent7 Serpent7 is offline
Staff Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 29
Posts: 2,523
Send a message via MSN to Serpent7
Do you get an error message? And how up to date are the drivers for all your hardware?
__________________
UT2007 Mapping Tutorials: UConstruct/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-06-2005, 05:38 PM
Ivan's Avatar
Ivan Ivan is offline
Staff Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ohio
Age: 28
Posts: 4,173
Send a message via AIM to Ivan Send a message via MSN to Ivan Send a message via Skype™ to Ivan
No it freezes up, and I have to go to task manager and click end program. It says this program is not responding and I have to click end now and start it back up. My computer was state of the art when I bought it in 2000...i dunno if you need any other specs than the processor and the ram...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Comments
The servers are not updated, maintained by, or have anything to do with Sonic Team or the SEGA Corporation.
And thank god for that!!
Still rocking pso on GC and BB...on that server that everyone knows about.

Let's Go, The Only Way We Know, Taking You Out. - Lostprophets
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-06-2005, 08:47 PM
Serpent7 Serpent7 is offline
Staff Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: France
Age: 29
Posts: 2,523
Send a message via MSN to Serpent7
Well, make sure that you've installed all the latest drivers for you graphics hardware, and that you've installed all current Windows updates. If that fails to change things, we'll continue from there. You can check for new driver updates ususally by going to the manufacturer's website.
__________________
UT2007 Mapping Tutorials: UConstruct/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-07-2005, 09:31 PM
jarl's Avatar
jarl jarl is offline
Legendary Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: my house, england
Age: 29
Posts: 3,415
Send a message via MSN to jarl
ahh! cunning, this could be useful

right, my grandads computer just crashed, and he tells me that it runs scandisk, gets to 71% and stops. any suggestions? i tried telling him to skip it but he cant which is strange. i know nothing apart from that.

also, im getting a lot of popups recently- im getting them for 'hot flash games' and the downloader (you know, the one saying 'do you trust content from these ppl...', im also getting a few from planet pharmacetuals (sp?) for viagra, and an especially annoying one for 'critical errors on my pc' I KNOW THAT!! LAST TIME I SCANNED IT IT HAD OVER 1300 ON IT!!! another pop up i get is for poker.

any plans for any of those? ive got the google pop up blocker, but that doesnt work

the popups appear all the time, one just appeared they also can appear when i DONT have any internet windows open, which is very weird...

Last edited by jarl; 18-07-2005 at 10:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-07-2005, 11:49 PM
~Buddah~'s Avatar
~Buddah~ ~Buddah~ is offline
Banned User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kentucky
Age: 27
Posts: 803
Send a message via AIM to ~Buddah~ Send a message via Yahoo to ~Buddah~
Well my pop up blocker works pretty well with my google pop up blocker (wich sux) go to panicware.com and get there free edition pop up blocker (no trial its totally free) ive had it for about 2 years every now and then i get 1 pop up but not often sorry i caint help with your grandpa
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-08-2005, 10:33 AM
Faulkie's Avatar
SR-Faulkie Faulkie is offline
Star Raider
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manchester, UK.
Age: 28
Posts: 3,970
My computer - help please?

Ok ok, for the bazillionth time, my brother has inadvertantly downloaded spyware. Usually that would just be common practice but this time is badass! Ok, when you turn on the computer and load up the user profile, instead of the normal background, a thing comes up saying you've been looking at illegal porn, and the FBI knows, etc, and gives you a link to 'get rid of it'. Yeah right. Oh yeah, my brother clicked that too. -_-;; Anyway, the background is some kind of program, but it doesn't show up at the bottom, and task manager has been disabled for some reason, so I have no idea how to get rid of it. Also, anything to do with the internet has been disabled and everything else is really slow. Also, I get these error popups every few seconds. How am I typing this? I hear you ask. Well, I created a new user profile and all the programs are here and it's fine, but won't it spread if I just leave it active on the other profile? Also, since I wouldn't really lose much, couldn't I just delete the old one? If so, how do you do that. Thanks in advance!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-08-2005, 11:06 AM
Lee-yoshi's Avatar
Lee-yoshi Lee-yoshi is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Devon, England
Age: 33
Posts: 6,462
What Operating System are you using? And by profiles i guess you mean where you have to log onto your little 'account' so to speak to use the computer. If so you just go to the Control Panel, go to 'Users Accounts', select that crapped up account, and go deletey!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-08-2005, 11:28 AM
A.S.'s Avatar
A.S. A.S. is offline
Legendary Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York
Age: 27
Posts: 2,361
Faulkie, you weren't the one viewing the-nevermind, yuo would never admit it ;o
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.