PDA

View Full Version : Huh? Short Posts and Time Limits


whiteninja
05-05-2005, 08:44 PM
Recently I noticed several 6 or 7 letter posts, when the minimum is 10, and I really didn't know what was going on. I was also just answering my PM's and when I tried to send the second one I got some message about you can't post withing 60 seconds of the last post.

Huh? Are the some site updates I have not been made aware of. :S

I will check this thread as soon as I can, but that may not be for several days...

Lee-yoshi
05-05-2005, 09:24 PM
To my knowledge, you cannot post under the same username within 60 seconds of making a previous post, including PM's as posts.

As for a reduction in post size limits, i dont know! lol!

whiteninja
05-05-2005, 09:52 PM
Example

Edit: I posted that and it was only 7 characters long. :S

How long has that 60 second thing been around? Maybe this is just the first time I actually did something that fast.

Double Edge
06-05-2005, 12:51 AM
Well, I just posted in The Void and my message was too short; seems fine to me. :S

God-IX
06-05-2005, 06:56 AM
The lowest I have gone is 5 characters...about the time limit..Lee is right

Teh EkwEE
06-05-2005, 11:41 AM
I have noticed the shorter posts also.

The time thing occurs if you hit the send button twice. Making sure you don't post twice in a row........that's the only time it has happened to me though...

Judgment
06-05-2005, 02:35 PM
Dunno

masterofchaos
06-05-2005, 05:19 PM
Its so you dont post twice it wont let you do just in case you post and accidently hit the send button twice by accident it wont post it it helps keep double posts down.

Psycho Warrior
06-05-2005, 05:58 PM
Yes I adgree with god-xl it is time to set a limet

Lee-yoshi
06-05-2005, 06:19 PM
Hehe, i have no idea how long the time limit has been in place, but i should have thought its been with us since the beginning! Thats basically there to cut down on spammers spamming!

As to double posting... well thats also the idea, but it still happens on occasions somehow :S

whiteninja
08-05-2005, 12:58 AM
If you hit "Refresh" while your submitting the post, it'll do it twice, but if you post, then try to do it again 3 seconds later, it won't? :S

Well, the time limit is a good idea anyway.... Slows down those spammers. :P

Why was there a change in the character limit on a post though? To allow you to say "Nope." ?

decswxaqz
08-05-2005, 12:59 AM
I don't know why.... maybe Sol did an upgrade and this was changed.... better for that one word story post in the void I suppose but I doubt he did that...

Serpent7
08-05-2005, 08:06 AM
Refreshing will work because it resends the same data about your post, including (probably) a variable that says something like $60_sec_limit = 0 ...

Or something... Decs'll have a better idea on how to phrase that! ^^