PDA

View Full Version : wtf?!


Phantom_RAcast
07-05-2004, 10:44 PM
everytime I try to go to certain sites my computer says:
The Page Cannot Be Displayed
does any idea what might be wrong with my computer?
it displays the message on the following sites:
AntiVirus Sites, Freewebs, Cybertrails, MSN

dez2049
07-05-2004, 10:50 PM
i think my pcs ok, its probly urs just screwin up lol :P

Phantom_RAcast
07-05-2004, 10:54 PM
I know that! I wanted to know if any one had any idea what is wrong with my pc

Faulkie
07-05-2004, 10:58 PM
any other sites you know of that it does it for?

dez2049
07-05-2004, 11:01 PM
i know i know! It may be some of your privacy settings are set too high or something, or your mobile code control. maybe even cookie settings may have corrupted... :P

Faulkie
07-05-2004, 11:02 PM
actually thats a point... mabe your browser settings are not correct

Phantom_RAcast
07-05-2004, 11:04 PM
no, I haven't changed my browser settings

Faulkie
07-05-2004, 11:09 PM
hmmm... maybe they're down

dez2049
07-05-2004, 11:10 PM
every pc has its ups and downs, ive had problems with accessing sites before but they werent as major as those. freewebs has stppd workin 4 me a few time now lol :P

Faulkie
07-05-2004, 11:13 PM
They don't just... stop working though do they?

Phantom_RAcast
07-05-2004, 11:16 PM
every pc has its ups and downs, ive had problems with accessing sites before but they werent as major as those. freewebs has stppd workin 4 me a few time now lol :P
this has been happening for quite awhile

dez2049
07-05-2004, 11:20 PM
soz but i cant help you there...

Faulkie
07-05-2004, 11:24 PM
has it slowly got worse or just suddenly got bad?

Lee-yoshi
07-05-2004, 11:26 PM
There are times when my Computer starts pee'in me right off. During these times they just wont open ANY websites at all. It'll just appear as 'The Page cannot be displayed'. Very frustrating i tell you. However, what i do at this time is either going to www.microsoft.com (Which always suspiciously loads up, then works all fine!), clicking onto various websites numerous times until they eventually load up, or reset my PC.

If it's nothing like that, and just NEVER EVER loads up those particular websites, while loading up others fine, then i'd suggest maybe re-installing Microsoft Internet Explorer, or updating it to IE 6 if you're still using 5. It could do the trick, but its the only thing i can think of at the mo that might work.

Phantom_RAcast
07-05-2004, 11:34 PM
There are times when my Computer starts pee'in me right off. During these times they just wont open ANY websites at all. It'll just appear as 'The Page cannot be displayed'. Very frustrating i tell you. However, what i do at this time is either going to www.microsoft.com (Which always suspiciously loads up, then works all fine!), clicking onto various websites numerous times until they eventually load up, or reset my PC.

If it's nothing like that, and just NEVER EVER loads up those particular websites, while loading up others fine, then i'd suggest maybe re-installing Microsoft Internet Explorer, or updating it to IE 6 if you're still using 5. It could do the trick, but its the only thing i can think of at the mo that might work.
if I keep refreshing the page it does eventually load up but this method doesn't work on sites where you have to login. I'll try upgrade to Internet explorer 6 and see if that helps.
[EDIT]: Internet explorer 6 doesn't work with windows 95. any other ideas?

Faulkie
07-05-2004, 11:46 PM
1) Get windows XP
2) Perhaps your ISP is under maintenance

Phantom_RAcast
07-05-2004, 11:49 PM
1) I don't have enough money to upgrade to windows XP
2)no my ISP isn't under maintenance

Lee-yoshi
07-05-2004, 11:50 PM
Get a new operating system?

You can try re-installing IE5 if thats what you use. My computer wont load up any pop-up windows. Any new windows i open through links, i have to 'Stop' and then 'Refresh' to make the URL appear and the page load! I'll have to try re-installing my IE soon i think.

There might be new updates for the version of Internet Explorer your using on Windows 95. If you go to www.microsoft.com and search for your current IE version, it should eventually come up with a batch of patches. You can try downloading and installing them, and that might work. Maybe the coding and policies have been updated on sites that use logins and passwords. Thats what i'm thinking. This site uses login and passwords, and it wasn't on your immediate list. So maybe its just sites that have updated their web security recently. Hence updating your version might be in order, if there's some available.

I'm really limited on the help i can give you on this subject! lol

Faulkie
07-05-2004, 11:51 PM
wow you're more help than me... :P but I tried

Phantom_RAcast
07-05-2004, 11:59 PM
I already have all the patches for my IE. I'll just have re-install it and see if that works. oh and this site seem to be suspiciously the only one that works correctly

Faulkie
08-05-2004, 12:04 AM
Its a conspiracy thought up by Sol to get more people here!

Anyway, good luck and god speed

Lee-yoshi
08-05-2004, 12:15 AM
lol. Sssssssh, what part of 'Top Secret' don't you understand!

Anyways, good luck with it all Phantom_RAcast! I really don't think i can help you further. The only logical thing i wudda considered doing would be going to the Microsoft website help desk and E-Mailing them. But don't bother, wotta waste of time. I simply could not find a simple E-Mail address for help anywhere when i went in search of my very annoying problem. Just a loada useless 'FAQ's' :( Dam corporations!

Phantom_RAcast
08-05-2004, 12:21 AM
well I can't re-install IE5 because they no longer offer it for download and I no longer have the setup installed on my pc

Omar
08-05-2004, 10:09 AM
lol. Sssssssh, what part of 'Top Secret' don't you understand!

Anyways, good luck with it all Phantom_RAcast! I really don't think i can help you further. The only logical thing i wudda considered doing would be going to the Microsoft website help desk and E-Mailing them. But don't bother, wotta waste of time. I simply could not find a simple E-Mail address for help anywhere when i went in search of my very annoying problem. Just a loada useless 'FAQ's' :( Dam corporations!
There are some places on the site that you can fill out forms to send to them. They email you back pretty quickly too for such a big corporation.

Sol
08-05-2004, 12:38 PM
Sometimes websites can alter the settings of your browser without you knowing. The most common is setting your homepage to some porn site. But they can do other things such as altering your hosts file or customising security levels. Id recommend checking and reseting all your ie options back to default even if you havent changed them yourself. Then do a check for any spyware on your pc that may have embedded itself without you knowing. Use this prog for that: http://download.com.com/3000-2144-10045910.html?part=69274&subj=dlpage&tag=button

Check your firewall settings too if you have one.

Hop this helps :)

Sd28
08-05-2004, 02:18 PM
why not try windows 98

Phantom_RAcast
09-05-2004, 01:45 AM
Sometimes websites can alter the settings of your browser without you knowing. The most common is setting your homepage to some porn site. But they can do other things such as altering your hosts file or customising security levels. Id recommend checking and reseting all your ie options back to default even if you havent changed them yourself. Then do a check for any spyware on your pc that may have embedded itself without you knowing. Use this prog for that: http://download.com.com/3000-2144-10045910.html?part=69274&subj=dlpage&tag=button

Check your firewall settings too if you have one.

Hop this helps :)
I changed them back to default and it seems to have worked

Omar
18-05-2004, 02:30 PM
Congratulations. Now bow before sol's knowledge.

Sheik
18-05-2004, 06:00 PM
I would recommend that you get IE 6 since a lot of sites require 5.5 and up.

Phantom_RAcast
18-05-2004, 09:02 PM
but I have windows 95 and IE 6 doesn't work on windows 95.... anyway this problem is already fixed

Omar
19-05-2004, 08:24 AM
but I have windows 95 and IE 6 doesn't work on windows 95.... anyway this problem is already fixed
Ok, maybe it should be locked to prevent people suggesting other things?