PDA

View Full Version : Getting online with Blueyonder 1MB


telboy007
19-01-2004, 11:55 PM
Hi,

Recently got my GC online via my broadband connection and thought I'd share my experiences.

This little guide should help anyone who has a cable modem with a RJ45 socket in it, if you have a different ISP provider the important thing is to get the BBA MAC code registered with them.

Connection details:
==============
ISP: Blueyonder (Telewest)
Modem: Motorola SB4200 SURFboard cable modem

Tip:
===
Don't ring Blueyonder support and say the words Gamecube to them, it's just not worth the effort.

What you'll need:
=============
1. GC broadband adaptor :)
2. RJ45 Male/Male Ethernet cable *
3. Bit of patience.

* Measure how long the ethernet cable needs to be before you buy it, I needed a 50ft cable to reach the GC from my PC modem! Still, it was worth the money.

What to do:
=========
1. Register the MAC address of the GC broadband adaptor (read the bit of paper that comes in the BBA box, that tells you where to find it) with Blueyonder - I recommend doing this online via selfcare http://selfcare.blueyonder.co.uk/ Click on 'Your Network Interface MAC Address' after you've logged in and fill in the boxes at the bottom of the next screen (letters must be lowercase) and click add.
2. Once succesful open the Run command from the Start menu and type winipcfg and choose the 'Release All' from the list of options.
3. Shut down your PC to save on the electric!
4. Pull out the mains plug of your cable modem and pull out the USB cable from the back of your PC.
5. Wait a minute or so (no idea if you have to wait at all but best to I suppose), plug the modem back into the mains and once you see the Online light lit up stick in the ethernet cable.
6. Connect the ethernet cable into the GC if you haven't already.
7. That's it, I didn't have to change any settings on the network options when getting PSO ready for online play.

To get your PC back online you need to unplug the modem from the mains, remove the RJ45 ethernet cable from the modem, plug the USB cable from the modem back into the PC, wait a minute then plug the modem back into the mains and away you go.

Any problems or if you need something explained better, please let me know.

*** Windows XP bit ***

There isn't a winipcfg for Windows XP, but you can use wntipcfg which is downloadable from the Microsoft website.
http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/techinfo/reskit/tools/existing/wntipcfg-o.asp

Everything else in the guide is the same! :)

Laters!

*** Windows XP bit ***

decswxaqz
20-01-2004, 09:06 AM
Thanks :)

Lucky bugger.... I want 1Mb :( ;_;

Junon
20-01-2004, 12:58 PM
Cool, nice Guide! I like it when others take it upon themselves to make guides and such to help others, i vote sticky!

telboy007
20-01-2004, 07:28 PM
Originally posted by decswxaqz
Thanks :)

Lucky bugger.... I want 1Mb :( ;_;

Hee hee :D

Uae
14-04-2004, 08:38 PM
I should be going online soon. Got a router which stops direct connection so i hope i dont have to much trouble getting online!

Ivan
15-04-2004, 05:12 AM
Heh, you think you've got it bad? Hey I'm the one with the 56k. You talk to me when youve got worse. And how the heck do you get 1MB?! You got T5 or something?!

Nice guide there telboy! I've never heard of that ISP before though...

Uae
15-04-2004, 06:48 PM
You can get 1mb with various companys now BT offers it, blue yonder, ntl and even aol. Does cost alot though.

Stan64
24-07-2004, 01:33 PM
What a crappy ISP. XD All that to get online. Isn't it easier to share your internet trough your computer with another Ethernet Card?

Btw, I have 10Mbit downstream/1Mbit upstream. ;) And that is bad in Sweden.

sonix
29-08-2004, 02:23 PM
hey i have this connection and this guide was really helpful but is there a way 2 browse the internet and play an online game in PSO 3 at the same time or do i need a router?

DARKMATTER
08-09-2004, 08:17 PM
ahem!!!*cough*cough* 1mb *cough* is slow. I got adsl i can dl upto 3mbs a sec on a good nite. a bad nite i usually dl at 2.1mbs. But i will be getting cable/dsl or virtual dsl. depends which comes out first, of course virtual dsl is faster than t3 remind u. virtual dsl u can download anywhere from 1mb to 100mb a sec. i suggest a faster comp though or ur comp gonna have problems trying to sort out 100mb a sec lol.

Redhead
04-12-2004, 12:27 PM
Its 1.5mbs actually i know cos i have it too :) and its about to be boosted to 2mb for the same price how cool is that?? Got mine working via a router so that I dont have to keep changing the bloody RJ45 leads over it gets boring after a while. :P

psychoticdemon
23-02-2005, 11:47 AM
hey i have this connection and this guide was really helpful but is there a way 2 browse the internet and play an online game in PSO 3 at the same time or do i need a router?

router is the best way for that

Aryus
04-09-2005, 10:47 AM
my Iinternet goes between 1mb and about 30mb


=)

telboy007
12-01-2006, 08:40 PM
Hello again, I'm back. Stopped playing after my 30 day freebie ran out. :$

Blimey that was a while ago.

My connection has now been upgraded to 10MB and I've got Windows XP and wanted to go online again to see if anyone was still about on EPI&II.

So guess what... no winipcfg on Windows XP, but you can use wntipcfg which is downloadable from the Microsoft website.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/techinfo/reskit/tools/existing/wntipcfg-o.asp

Everything else in the guide should be the same.

Too stingey to get a router. :)

Laters!